One of these days, I hope very soon, it will all come together. The elusive, subjective concepts of flow and hook will drop into place in my mind, and I’ll be able to apply them to my novel manuscript.

I do understand the concept of laying a stone wall. When doing so, each next stone laid must cover the gap between the stones below it. This picture is a good illustration.

What I’m not as certain about is how the wall building fits into writing. Should I be viewing these stones as sentences, or paragraphs to achieve flow, whatever that is? Or does flow come from sonority, which would be a result of word choice?

If flow comes from all three levels, words, sentences, and paragraphs, where do the gaps come in? What’s a tip-off that flow, if it existed, has faltered?

If you have some hints, please leave a comment. Thank you.

