Stairs. These are now blocked off, and rusted. I climbed them once, when they were new, and I was more daring. I stood above multiple lanes of traffic, and came up with one of my early poems.I don’t know if the crossing was ever used as often as city planners hoped, but no one strides across it anymore. Yet, the angles and the sky make an interesting perspective.

Back then, I was content to let dreams stay vague. No more. Now, I want to take definite steps toward a fiction writer’s life. I’m approaching a first signpost, though it’s some distance off.This old crosswalk was erected to give those who still chose to walk a measure of safety from traffic. It isn’t often that any dreams are reached by a completely direct route. When progress appears to be blocked, let’s look harder for an alternative. It may involve a detour. Someone may claim we’re lost, off the track entirely. Or worse, that the dream we’re seeing is a waste of time.Do not, do not allow an outsider’s opinion to smear your vision of some dream. It’s yours. The road to reach it may still be under construction. That’s okay. It gives you time to plan, to gather skills and experience. Lift your head. See the light between the shadows, and don’t let access to your hope, your dream, rust away.

I’m hoping that  my dream of having a novel in print will give some reader under stress an escape route and enjoyment during difficult circumstances.

Your  realized dream may provide something more concrete, but just as vital. What dreams do you see with clearer focus these days? Are there skills you can rebuild to accomplish the dreams? I’ll keep you updated on my small advances. Today I’ve gained another rejection letter to file with my growing stack. It may be that I gather a ream or two worth of those, but I won’t  quit.

I’m off to search out another market. I’ll see you on Thursday.

In the weeks since I first posted this, there’s been road work done at that intersection, and the crosswalk is gone.
